Welcome to my Living Gratitude blog.  I’ve started this blog because I need to remind myself every day to be grateful for everything that I have.  You see, I have a confession to make:  I’m a chronic worrier.  For decades it’s been my job to predict cash flow scenarios for my clients so that they could make informed financial decisions.  I always felt I needed to include the worst-case scenario in those projections because what if the worst really happens?  People need to have a plan, don’t they?  When economic times were flush, my tendency toward pessimism was just a quirky annoyance.  But now that the economy really has tanked and “the worst that could happen” seems to really be happening … well, my level of worrying has gone way past fear into an almost constant terrified panic.  It’s not pretty, trust me.  So I invite you to join me on my quest to leave my fearful thoughts behind me, and to adopt in their place a constant and abiding attitude of gratitude.

I’ve been studying the Law of Attraction for several years now, so I know how important it is for me to focus on gratitude rather than fear.  The Law of Attraction states that whatever we focus on with great emotion is what we will attract into our lives.  I’ve learned that there are really only two basic emotions, and that they both are very powerful attractors.   All emotions are either a form of love or a form of fear.  To grossly over-simplify the concept, feeling love makes us feel good, and feeling fear makes us feel bad.  Thoughts that make us feel good tap us in to the power of love, while thoughts that make us feel bad tap us in to the power of fear.  In spite of how it may seem to us sometimes, we get to choose what we will think about at any given moment, which means that we ultimately have total control over how we feel about our circumstances.

That being said, if I continue to let my pessimism feed my fears:  if I listen to the evening news and the dire financial predictions I hear there, if I focus on the downward spiral of the stock exchange, if I continue to stare at my dwindling financial resources and keep focusing on the worst-case scenario, the Law of Attraction predicts that I will without a doubt attract that worst-case scenario into my life, and that I will, in fact, lose everything just as I predicted.  But that would be stupid, wouldn’t it?

If, on the other hand, I make a conscious decision to focus on the power of love in my life, and to dwell on all that is good and beautiful and rich in my life, then I can just as easily attract more of that goodness into my reality.  Now, wouldn’t that be better? So how do you focus on love?  Love is a complicated topic, and we don’t always know how to feel love, let alone express it.  So how do we tap into a power when we don’t really understand it?  Oh, fear is easy – trust me.  I can become afraid and worry with very little prompting.  But for love, I need a key that will open that mysterious door for me in a meaningful way, and that will work for me consistently.  Gratitude is that key.

The way to tap in to the power of love consistently is to switch our focus from fear to gratitude. If we learn to make a daily habit out of expressng our gratitude at the beginning of each day, then we will go out into the world with an attitude of gratitude that will attract more of what we want into our lives.  After all, we all just want to be happy, don’t we?  So let’s start by choosing happy thoughts.

The Attitude of Gratitude Project is this:  Carve out some time at the beginning of each day for a new morning gratitude ritual.  Start each day focusing on all that is going right in your world.  Stop by the The Attitude of Gratitude Project on Facebook and let us know what you’re grateful for today.  Tell someone in your life how much they mean to you.  Take a few minutes each morning to focus on the good things in your life until you can feel the love and appreciation for them welling up inside of you.  You’ll then be able to more easily maintain a grateful attitude as you move through your day.    Try it for 30 days, and see if it doesn’t change your life for the better.  It’s bound to feel better than all that worrying, don’t you think?

